The Bleacher Bums Header

Verlander and Ramirez are rookies of the year

Posted at 2:58 PM on November 13, 2006 by Ben Tesch

The big year-end awards (and free-agent signings) have officially started rolling in.

In the AL, the rookie honors go to Justin Verlander for the Tigers, with Jonathan Papelbon in 2nd and Francisco Liriano in 3rd. Clearly, missing time with late injuries hurt both Papelbon's and Liriano's chances. Verlander became the first starter to win the AL award since 1981.

In the NL, the rookie honors went to speedy Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez, with Ryan Zimmerman in 2nd and Dan Uggla in 3rd. Josh Johnson was 4th, giving the Marlins three of the top four in the voting.

This week are the Cy Young and Manager of the Year awards, and next week the MVPs are crowned. Any predictions?

November 2006
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    

Master Archive

MPR News

Listen Now

Other Radio Streams from MPR

Classical MPR
Radio Heartland