On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Our Town 8:06 Aaron Copland
    Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra
    Leonard Slatkin
    Buy Now
  • Sleeping Beauty: Jubilee March 8:01 Erkki Melartin
    Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
    Leif Segerstam
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Kristin Byrne
(Eagan, MN)

from Eagan High School Wind Ensemble, Minnesota Youth Symphony, performing Sonata for Oboe and Piano, movement 1 composed/arranged by Francis Poulenc.

Submission Audio:

Artistic Statement

I fell in love with this movement shortly after my teacher initially assigned it. It has a gorgeous melody line and a lot of dynamic contrast. The second half has an almost bipolar nature as loud, angry phrases are mixed with the delicate melody line

Share this submission

Share on Facebook Post on Facebook

« Back to all Submissions