On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Orchestral Suite No. 2 4:16 Johann Sebastian Bach
    English Chamber Orchestra
    Philip Ledger
    Buy Now
  • Concerto for Flute and Two Violins 11:49 Jacques Loeillet
    The Authentic Tastes Ensemble
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.



Thanks to everyone who submitted their performance to Minnesota Varsity! Our Editorial Team was amazed at the incredibly high level of talent across the state. You can hear all the recordings by clicking on the map below, or sorting through the table beneath it.

Showcase Round

You have heard them on the radio and online, and now you have the opportunity to hear our showcase artists perform live at the Fitzgerald Theater April 17th at 2 p.m.!

Special guests include the University of Minnesota Drumline and the Copper Street Brass Quintet. Tickets are available online. Reserve yours today! MPR members receive a discount.

Showcase Round Artists

These 5 artists have been selected by you — and our judges — to appear at the Fitzgerald Theater on April 17th at 2 p.m. Each Showcase Artist will receive a cash prize of $1,000 through the generosity of an anonymous donor.

Valais Duo (Melissa Deal and John Belk)
Henry Johnston
Andy Xue
Joshua Weinberg
Austin Wahl

Honorable Mentions

The judges agreed on two Honorable Mentions. They are:

Matt Lammers
Maeve Moynihan

Featured Round Artists

These 15 artists have been professionally recorded by MPR Engineers. You may have heard the new recordings on-air, (7:15 am and 4:15 pm weekdays); now you can hear them online on each artist's page. We will open a ballot on March 21st at 2 p.m. to whittle the list down to the 5 showcase performers at the Fitzgerald Theater on April 17th.

John Belk Maple Grove
Rebecca Yeh Brainerd
Valais Duo Maple Grove
The Ronea Quartet St. Paul
Henry Johnston Saint Paul
Matt Lammers Eden Prairie
Andy Xue Plymouth
Maeve Moynihan Edina
Brianna Drevlow, soloist, and Brett Drevlow, accompanist Thief River Falls
Xavier Jara Arlington
Joshua Weinberg St. Peter
Emily Rudquist Deer River
Lauren Eberwein St. Paul
Austin Wahl Minneapolis
Karen Baumgartner Roseville

All Submissions



Matt Lammers Eden Prairie
7 members of Brainerd Chamber Orchestra Brainerd
Shyanne Kaml Bemidji
Danna Nelson Blaine
Mary Traxler Mankato
Kendra Sobania Little Falls
Caroline Krause Eden Prairie
Meghan Lowe Rochester
Christina Hagan Rochester
Fiona Kelliher Minneapolis
Eunhae Park Dilworth
David Gonzalez-Dysinger North Oaks
David Nemetz Woodbury
Claudia Finsaas New London
Maria Molina Espinosa Bloomington
MacPhail Guitar Quartet St. Paul
John Belk Maple Grove
Rebecca Yeh Brainerd
Leo Wexler-Mann St. Paul
Mitchell Evans White Bear Township
Tyler Evans White Bear Township
Hersha Guron Edina
Chaska High Notes Chask
Monica Langfeld Blaine
Girls Vocal Ensemble of the House of Hope Choir School St Paul
Julia Whelan Maple Grove
Mikk Nestrud Anoka
Karl Buttermann Mahtomedi
Emily Bloomquist Walker
Kenzey Bea Ostrowski Brainerd
Angela Langton Walker
Ben James Walker
Jacqueline Callens Marshall
Esther Baumgartner Roseville
Karen and Esther Baumgartner Roseville
Morganne McIntyre Moorhead
Emily Hattouni Lakeville
Christopher Neiner Burnsville
Michael Yang Eden Prairie
Michael Yang Eden Prairie
Emma McCartney SAINT PAUL
The Prairie Trio Eden Prairie
Seiji Cataldo Saint Paul
Valais Duo (Melissa Deal and John Belk) Maple Grove
John Woog Rochester
RAHS Oboe Duet Roseville
Winds of Baroque Minnesota Lino Lakes
Francesca Dawis Minneapolis
The Ronea Quartet (Gaia Ramsdell, Maia Gumnit, Laura Williamson, Steven Grieger) St. Paul
Emily Nadolny Willmar
sara ludlow Bemidji
Henry Johnston Saint Paul
Austin Stole Waconia
Sarah Wiechmann Coon Rapids
Mayo High School Trombone Quartet Rochester
The Malik String Quartet Eden Prairie
Lexy Devitt Apple Valley
Maria Schroeder Rochester
Christy Emanuelson Rosemount
Zoe Geisen North Branch
David Algadi Oronoco
Andy Xue Plymouth
Janet Elliott Minneapolis
Jennifer Kim Rochester
Soundhole Surfers Maple Plain
Jake Ingbar Minneapolis
Mariah Hoffman Inver Grove Heights
Melody Rossiter Bloomington
Heather Cornelius Paynesville
Alex Knutson Lakeville
Alyssa Larson Owatonna
Eric Zishka Owatonna
Emily Champoux Woodbury
Ellen Monzo Corcoran
Eleanor Freed Edina
Aaron Fagerstrom (soloist) and Brayden Drevlow (accompanist) Thief River Falls
Hannah Pederson Oronoco
Peter Micholic Apple Valley
Jennifer LeDoux Minneapolis
Lisa Persson Minnetonka
Kristian Lee Minneapolis
Marin Dettweiler Minger North Branch
Elizabeth Roddy Woodbury
Kristin Byrne Eagan
Giuliano Kornberg Wayzata
Maeve Moynihan Edina
Ben Cline Farmington
Brianna Drevlow, soloist, and Brett Drevlow, accompanist Thief River Falls
Jenna Petersen Pine Island
Xavier Jara Arlington
Lisa Herman Shoreview
Luther Warren New Brighton
Mary Alice Hutton Bloomington
Johanna Downing Baxter
Alexis Visser Pequot Lakes
Lauren Laskowski Rochester
JuBell-Lante Ensemble Rochester
Flying Fingers Zumbro Falls
Hannah Allen Bemidji
Ryan SanCartier Stillwater
Sorelle Espressivo Ham Lake
Grace Pauly Dassel
Caleb Richards Shakopee
Josiah Beretta Melrose
Joshua Weinberg St. Peter
Samantha Carr Chanhassen
Emily Rudquist Deer River
Members of the GTCYS Golden Valley
David Nemetz Woodbury
Melanie Luikart St. Paul
Ryan Fargo Eden Prairie
Alison Seemann Zumbro Falls
Hannah Nicole Allen Bemidji
Anders Cornell Plymouth
Eric Haugen Bemidji
Lane Atmore Saint Paul
Joe Cramer Brooklyn Center
Lauren Eberwein St. Paul
Ann Okoneski Maplewood
Melia Willoughby Elk River
Morgan Lynch-Schmidt Winona
Anna Hashizume Plymouth
Leeza Ali Mendota Heights
Stephanie Sedarski Rochester
Genevieve McCarthy Edina
Nicole Moran Eagan
Eric Broker and Grant Strom Saint Cloud
Austin Wahl Minneapolis
Karen Baumgartner Roseville