Property tax rebate

HF 4142, proposed by Rep. Phil Krinkie, a candidate for the 6th Congressional District seat, would rebate 9 percent of Minnesota taxpayers' property tax bill. The average rebate would be $185. The maximum, according to some legislators, would be $12,000. The plan is contingent on the state winning its case, to retain money collected with its "health impact fee" on cigarettes.

More from MPR:
House passes tax rebate plan (05/02/2006)

SORT VOTES BY: Name | District | Party | Vote
House approval
May 2, 2006 (HF4142)

The House voted 86-to-47 for the bill. Some Democrats say Krinkie's plan is unfair, because rebate checks would go only to homeowners, leaving out 270,000 renters. The checks are also based on the size of a homeowner's property tax bill, and there's no limit on how large the rebates could be. DFL Rep. Jim Davnie of Minneapolis tried to amend the bill to include renters, but his attempt narrowly failed by a vote of 65-to-67.

Result: Passed

Legislator Party District Vote
Jim Abeler Republican 48B FOR
Ron Abrams Republican 43B FOR
Bruce Anderson Republican 19A FOR
Irv Anderson DFL 03A AGAINST
Joe Atkins DFL 39B FOR
Michael Beard Republican 35A FOR
Connie Bernardy DFL 51B AGAINST
Greg Blaine Republican 12B FOR
Fran Bradley Republican 29B FOR
Laura Brod Republican 25A FOR
Mark Buesgens Republican 35B FOR
Lyndon Carlson DFL 45B FOR
Mike Charron Republican 56A FOR
Karen Clark DFL 61A AGAINST
Tony Cornish Republican 24B FOR
Ray Cox Republican 25B FOR
Lloyd Cybart Republican 37A FOR
Gregory M. Davids Republican 31B FOR
Jim Davnie DFL 62A AGAINST
Chris DeLaForest Republican 49A FOR
Matt Dean Republican 52B FOR
Randy Demmer Republican 29A FOR
Jerry Dempsey Republican 28A FOR
David Dill DFL 06A AGAINST
Denise Dittrich DFL 47A FOR
Dan Dorman Republican 27A AGAINST
Rob Eastlund Republican 17A FOR
Keith Ellison DFL 58B AGAINST
Tom Emmer Republican 19B FOR
Matt Entenza DFL 64A AGAINST
Ron Erhardt Republican 41A FOR
Sondra Erickson Republican 16A FOR
Brad Finstad Republican 21B FOR
Patti Fritz DFL 26B FOR
Pat Garofalo Republican 36B FOR
Paul Gazelka Republican 12A FOR
Barbara Goodwin DFL 50A AGAINST
Mindy Greiling DFL 54A AGAINST
Bob Gunther Republican 24A FOR
Tom Hackbarth Republican 48A FOR
Rod Hamilton Republican 22B FOR
Rick Hansen DFL 39A AGAINST
Alice Hausman DFL 66B AGAINST
Larry Haws DFL 15B AGAINST
Bud Heidgerken Republican 13A AGAINST
Debra Hilstrom DFL 46B AGAINST
Bill Hilty DFL 08A AGAINST
Mary Liz Holberg Republican 36A FOR
Joe Hoppe Republican 34B FOR
Frank Hornstein DFL 60B AGAINST
Melissa Hortman DFL 47B FOR
Larry Hosch DFL 14B FOR
Larry Howes Republican 04B FOR
Mike Jaros DFL 07B AGAINST
Jeff Johnson Republican 43A FOR
Ruth Johnson DFL 23A AGAINST
Sheldon Johnson DFL 67B AGAINST
Phyllis Kahn DFL 59B AGAINST
Margaret Anderson Kelliher DFL 60A AGAINST
Karen Klinzing Republican 56B FOR
Jim Knoblach Republican 15A FOR
Lyle Koenen DFL 20B AGAINST
Paul Kohls Republican 34A FOR
Philip Krinkie Republican 53A FOR
Morrie Lanning Republican 09A FOR
Dan Larson DFL 63B AGAINST
Ron Latz DFL 44B FOR
Ann Lenczewski DFL 40B AGAINST
John Lesch DFL 66A AGAINST
Tina Liebling DFL 30A FOR
Bernard Lieder DFL 01B AGAINST
Leon Lillie DFL 55A FOR
Diane Loeffler DFL 59A AGAINST
Doug Magnus Republican 22A FOR
Tim Mahoney DFL 67A AGAINST
Carlos Mariani DFL 65B AGAINST
Paul Marquart DFL 09B AGAINST
Denny McNamara Republican 57B FOR
Doug Meslow Republican 53B FOR
Frank Moe DFL 04A FOR
Joe Mullery DFL 58A AGAINST
Mary Murphy DFL 06B AGAINST
Michael Nelson DFL 46A AGAINST
Peter Nelson Republican 17B FOR
Scott Newman Republican 18A FOR
Bud Nornes Republican 10A FOR
Mark Olson Republican 16B FOR
Mary Ellen Otremba DFL 11B FOR
Dennis Ozment Republican 37B FOR
Erik Paulsen Republican 42B FOR
Michael Paymar DFL 64B FOR
Gene Pelowski, Jr. DFL 31A FOR
Maxine Penas Republican 01A FOR
Joyce Peppin Republican 32A FOR
Aaron Peterson DFL 20A AGAINST
Neil W. Peterson Republican 41B FOR
Sandra Peterson DFL 45A FOR
Jeanne Poppe DFL 27B FOR
Duke Powell Republican 40A FOR
Tom Rukavina DFL 05A AGAINST
Connie Ruth Republican 26A FOR
Maria Ruud DFL 42A FOR
Brita Sailer DFL 02B FOR
Char Samuelson Republican 50B FOR
Bev Scalze DFL 54B FOR
Marty Seifert Republican 21A FOR
Anthony Sertich DFL 05B AGAINST
Dan Severson Republican 14A FOR
Katie Sieben DFL 57A AGAINST
Steve Simon DFL 44A FOR
Dean Simpson Republican 10B FOR
Nora Slawik DFL 55B FOR
Steve Smith Republican 33A FOR
Judy Soderstrom Republican 08B FOR
Loren Solberg DFL 03B AGAINST
Steve Sviggum Republican 28B FOR
Barb Sykora Republican 33B FOR
Paul Thissen DFL 63A AGAINST
Kathy Tingelstad Republican 49B FOR
Dean Urdahl Republican 18B FOR
Ray Vandeveer Republican 52A AGAINST
Jean Wagenius DFL 62B AGAINST
Neva Walker DFL 61B AGAINST
Lynn Wardlow Republican 38B FOR
Andy Welti DFL 30B FOR
Andrew Westerberg Republican 51A FOR
Torrey Westrom Republican 11A FOR
Tim Wilkin Republican 38A FOR
Kurt Zellers Republican 32B FOR

More from MPR:
House passes tax rebate plan (05/02/2006)