Cigarette tax increase - Remove from human services bill

The cigarette tax -- called a "fee" by Gov. Tim Pawlenty, who proposed it -- was included in the HHS bill over the objection of opponents to the 75-cents-a-pack increase, who thought it should be in a tax bill. They also didn't want to be in a position to vote for a tax increase, in order to gain approval of the HHS bill, which has a provision many favored requiring anesthesia for the fetus in certain abortion. A FOR indicator is a vote to try to remove the cigarette fee from the HHS bill.

More from MPR:
Legislature passes budget, cigarette fee before heading home (07/13/2005)

SORT VOTES BY: Name | District | Party | Vote
House vote (special session)
July 13, 2005 (HF139)

This is the vote on the amendment to remove the cigarette fee from the health and human services spending bill.

Result: Rejected

Legislator Party District Vote
Jim Abeler Republican 48B AGAINST
Ron Abrams Republican 43B AGAINST
Bruce Anderson Republican 19A FOR
Irv Anderson DFL 03A FOR
Joe Atkins DFL 39B AGAINST
Michael Beard Republican 35A AGAINST
Connie Bernardy DFL 51B FOR
Greg Blaine Republican 12B FOR
Fran Bradley Republican 29B AGAINST
Laura Brod Republican 25A AGAINST
Mark Buesgens Republican 35B FOR
Lyndon Carlson DFL 45B AGAINST
Mike Charron Republican 56A ABSTAINED
Karen Clark DFL 61A AGAINST
Tony Cornish Republican 24B AGAINST
Ray Cox Republican 25B AGAINST
Lloyd Cybart Republican 37A AGAINST
Gregory M. Davids Republican 31B AGAINST
Jim Davnie DFL 62A AGAINST
Chris DeLaForest Republican 49A FOR
Matt Dean Republican 52B FOR
Randy Demmer Republican 29A AGAINST
Jerry Dempsey Republican 28A AGAINST
David Dill DFL 06A FOR
Denise Dittrich DFL 47A FOR
Dan Dorman Republican 27A ABSTAINED
Rob Eastlund Republican 17A FOR
Kent Eken DFL 02A FOR
Keith Ellison DFL 58B AGAINST
Tom Emmer Republican 19B ABSTAINED
Matt Entenza DFL 64A AGAINST
Ron Erhardt Republican 41A AGAINST
Sondra Erickson Republican 16A FOR
Brad Finstad Republican 21B FOR
Patti Fritz DFL 26B AGAINST
Pat Garofalo Republican 36B FOR
Paul Gazelka Republican 12A ABSTAINED
Barbara Goodwin DFL 50A FOR
Mindy Greiling DFL 54A AGAINST
Bob Gunther Republican 24A AGAINST
Tom Hackbarth Republican 48A FOR
Rod Hamilton Republican 22B FOR
Rick Hansen DFL 39A AGAINST
Alice Hausman DFL 66B AGAINST
Bud Heidgerken Republican 13A ABSTAINED
Debra Hilstrom DFL 46B AGAINST
Bill Hilty DFL 08A FOR
Mary Liz Holberg Republican 36A FOR
Joe Hoppe Republican 34B FOR
Frank Hornstein DFL 60B AGAINST
Melissa Hortman DFL 47B FOR
Larry Hosch DFL 14B FOR
Larry Howes Republican 04B ABSTAINED
Thomas Huntley DFL 07A AGAINST
Mike Jaros DFL 07B FOR
Jeff Johnson Republican 43A FOR
Ruth Johnson DFL 23A AGAINST
Sheldon Johnson DFL 67B AGAINST
Al Juhnke DFL 13B FOR
Margaret Anderson Kelliher DFL 60A AGAINST
Karen Klinzing Republican 56B FOR
Jim Knoblach Republican 15A FOR
Lyle Koenen DFL 20B FOR
Paul Kohls Republican 34A FOR
Philip Krinkie Republican 53A FOR
Morrie Lanning Republican 09A AGAINST
Dan Larson DFL 63B AGAINST
Ann Lenczewski DFL 40B AGAINST
John Lesch DFL 66A FOR
Tina Liebling DFL 30A AGAINST
Bernard Lieder DFL 01B AGAINST
Leon Lillie DFL 55A AGAINST
Diane Loeffler DFL 59A AGAINST
Doug Magnus Republican 22A FOR
Tim Mahoney DFL 67A FOR
Carlos Mariani DFL 65B AGAINST
Paul Marquart DFL 09B FOR
Denny McNamara Republican 57B AGAINST
Doug Meslow Republican 53B AGAINST
Frank Moe DFL 04A FOR
Joe Mullery DFL 58A AGAINST
Mary Murphy DFL 06B AGAINST
Michael Nelson DFL 46A AGAINST
Peter Nelson Republican 17B AGAINST
Scott Newman Republican 18A AGAINST
Bud Nornes Republican 10A AGAINST
Mark Olson Republican 16B FOR
Mary Ellen Otremba DFL 11B FOR
Dennis Ozment Republican 37B AGAINST
Erik Paulsen Republican 42B AGAINST
Michael Paymar DFL 64B AGAINST
Gene Pelowski, Jr. DFL 31A AGAINST
Maxine Penas Republican 01A AGAINST
Joyce Peppin Republican 32A FOR
Aaron Peterson DFL 20A FOR
Neil W. Peterson Republican 41B AGAINST
Sandra Peterson DFL 45A AGAINST
Jeanne Poppe DFL 27B AGAINST
Duke Powell Republican 40A FOR
Tom Rukavina DFL 05A FOR
Connie Ruth Republican 26A AGAINST
Maria Ruud DFL 42A AGAINST
Brita Sailer DFL 02B FOR
Char Samuelson Republican 50B AGAINST
Bev Scalze DFL 54B AGAINST
Marty Seifert Republican 21A FOR
Anthony Sertich DFL 05B FOR
Dan Severson Republican 14A FOR
Katie Sieben DFL 57A AGAINST
Steve Simon DFL 44A AGAINST
Dean Simpson Republican 10B AGAINST
Nora Slawik DFL 55B AGAINST
Steve Smith Republican 33A FOR
Judy Soderstrom Republican 08B AGAINST
Loren Solberg DFL 03B FOR
Steve Sviggum Republican 28B AGAINST
Barb Sykora Republican 33B AGAINST
Paul Thissen DFL 63A AGAINST
Kathy Tingelstad Republican 49B AGAINST
Dean Urdahl Republican 18B AGAINST
Ray Vandeveer Republican 52A FOR
Jean Wagenius DFL 62B AGAINST
Neva Walker DFL 61B AGAINST
Lynn Wardlow Republican 38B AGAINST
Andy Welti DFL 30B AGAINST
Andrew Westerberg Republican 51A AGAINST
Torrey Westrom Republican 11A FOR
Tim Wilkin Republican 38A FOR
Kurt Zellers Republican 32B FOR
Senate vote (special session)
July 13, 2005 (HF139)

This is the Senate floor vote on an amendment to the health and human services bill that would have stripped the cigarette tax increase out of the bill. The attempt failed on a 47-to-19 vote.

Result: Rejected

Legislator Party District Vote
Ellen R. Anderson DFL 66 AGAINST
Michele M. Bachmann Republican 52 FOR
Thomas M. Bakk DFL 06 FOR
William V. Belanger Republican 40 AGAINST
Linda Berglin DFL 61 AGAINST
Don Betzold DFL 51 AGAINST
Satveer Chaudhary DFL 50 AGAINST
Richard J. Cohen DFL 64 AGAINST
Dick Day Republican 26 AGAINST
D. Scott Dibble DFL 60 AGAINST
Steve Dille Republican 18 AGAINST
Michelle L. Fischbach Republican 14 AGAINST
Leo T. Foley DFL 47 AGAINST
Dennis R. Frederickson Republican 21 AGAINST
David Gaither Republican 43 AGAINST
Chris Gerlach Republican 37 FOR
David Hann Republican 42 FOR
Linda Higgins DFL 58 AGAINST
John C. Hottinger DFL 23 AGAINST
Dean E. Johnson DFL 13 AGAINST
Debbie J. Johnson Republican 49 AGAINST
Michael J. Jungbauer Republican 48 FOR
Steve Kelley DFL 44 AGAINST
Bob Kierlin Republican 31 AGAINST
Sheila M. Kiscaden DFL 30 AGAINST
Dave Kleis Republican 15 FOR
Paul E. Koering Republican 12 AGAINST
Gary W. Kubly DFL 20 AGAINST
Keith Langseth DFL 09 AGAINST
Cal Larson Republican 10 AGAINST
Brian LeClair Republican 56 FOR
Warren Limmer Republican 32 FOR
Becky Lourey DFL 08 AGAINST
Sharon Marko DFL 57 AGAINST
John Marty DFL 54 AGAINST
Mike McGinn Republican 38 AGAINST
James P. Metzen DFL 39 FOR
Geoff Michel Republican 41 AGAINST
Mee Moua DFL 67 FOR
Steve Murphy DFL 28 AGAINST
Thomas M. Neuville Republican 25 AGAINST
Sean R. Nienow Republican 17 FOR
Gen Olson Republican 33 FOR
Julianne E. Ortman Republican 34 AGAINST
Mark Ourada Republican 19 AGAINST
Sandra L. Pappas DFL 65 AGAINST
Pat Pariseau Republican 36 FOR
Lawrence J. Pogemiller DFL 59 FOR
Yvonne Prettner Solon DFL 07 AGAINST
Jane B. Ranum DFL 63 AGAINST
Mady Reiter Republican 53 FOR
Claire A. Robling Republican 35 AGAINST
Julie A. Rosen Republican 24 AGAINST
Carrie L. Ruud Republican 04 AGAINST
Dallas C. Sams DFL 11 FOR
Tom Saxhaug DFL 03 AGAINST
Linda Scheid DFL 46 AGAINST
David H. Senjem Republican 29 AGAINST
Rod Skoe DFL 02 FOR
Wesley J. Skoglund DFL 62 AGAINST
Dan Sparks DFL 27 AGAINST
LeRoy A. Stumpf DFL 01 AGAINST
David J. Tomassoni DFL 05 FOR
Jim Vickerman DFL 22 FOR
Betsy L. Wergin Republican 16 AGAINST
Charles W. Wiger DFL 55 AGAINST