Minimum wage increase

Minnesota's minimum wage has been stuck at $5.15 since 1997. Supporters of a bumped-up wage floor say there are about 50,000 workers in Minnesota who make the minimum wage, and another 60,000 to 70,000 who make a dollar or less more than minimum wage.

More from MPR:
Senate compromises on Minnesota minimum wage bill (05/02/2005)
Senate compromises on Minnesota minimum wage bill (05/03/2005)
For one business owner, new minimum wage is just the latest stress (05/08/2005)

SORT VOTES BY: Name | District | Party | Vote
Governor's Desk
May 10, 2005

Result: Signed
Senate floor vote
May 3, 2005 (SF3)

Workers who make the minimum wage are in line for a $1 an hour raise in August, following a Minnesota Senate vote that affirmed a compromise approved by the House and supported by Gov. Tim Pawlenty. The measure passed the Senate 44-22.

Result: Passed

Legislator Party District Vote
Ellen R. Anderson DFL 66 FOR
Michele M. Bachmann Republican 52 AGAINST
Thomas M. Bakk DFL 06 FOR
William V. Belanger Republican 40 AGAINST
Linda Berglin DFL 61 FOR
Don Betzold DFL 51 FOR
Satveer Chaudhary DFL 50 FOR
Richard J. Cohen DFL 64 FOR
Dick Day Republican 26 AGAINST
D. Scott Dibble DFL 60 FOR
Steve Dille Republican 18 FOR
Michelle L. Fischbach Republican 14 AGAINST
Leo T. Foley DFL 47 FOR
Dennis R. Frederickson Republican 21 FOR
David Gaither Republican 43 AGAINST
Chris Gerlach Republican 37 AGAINST
David Hann Republican 42 AGAINST
Linda Higgins DFL 58 FOR
John C. Hottinger DFL 23 FOR
Dean E. Johnson DFL 13 FOR
Debbie J. Johnson Republican 49 AGAINST
Michael J. Jungbauer Republican 48 FOR
Steve Kelley DFL 44 FOR
Bob Kierlin Republican 31 AGAINST
Dave Kleis Republican 15 AGAINST
Paul E. Koering Republican 12 FOR
Gary W. Kubly DFL 20 FOR
Keith Langseth DFL 09 FOR
Cal Larson Republican 10 AGAINST
Brian LeClair Republican 56 AGAINST
Warren Limmer Republican 32 AGAINST
Becky Lourey DFL 08 FOR
Sharon Marko DFL 57 FOR
John Marty DFL 54 FOR
Mike McGinn Republican 38 AGAINST
James P. Metzen DFL 39 FOR
Geoff Michel Republican 41 AGAINST
Mee Moua DFL 67 FOR
Steve Murphy DFL 28 FOR
Thomas M. Neuville Republican 25 FOR
Sean R. Nienow Republican 17 AGAINST
Gen Olson Republican 33 AGAINST
Julianne E. Ortman Republican 34 FOR
Mark Ourada Republican 19 FOR
Sandra L. Pappas DFL 65 FOR
Pat Pariseau Republican 36 AGAINST
Lawrence J. Pogemiller DFL 59 FOR
Yvonne Prettner Solon DFL 07 FOR
Jane B. Ranum DFL 63 FOR
Mady Reiter Republican 53 AGAINST
Ann H. Rest DFL 45 FOR
Claire A. Robling Republican 35 FOR
Julie A. Rosen Republican 24 FOR
Carrie L. Ruud Republican 04 AGAINST
Dallas C. Sams DFL 11 FOR
Tom Saxhaug DFL 03 FOR
Linda Scheid DFL 46 FOR
David H. Senjem Republican 29 AGAINST
Rod Skoe DFL 02 FOR
Wesley J. Skoglund DFL 62 FOR
Dan Sparks DFL 27 FOR
LeRoy A. Stumpf DFL 01 FOR
David J. Tomassoni DFL 05 FOR
Jim Vickerman DFL 22 FOR
Betsy L. Wergin Republican 16 AGAINST
Charles W. Wiger DFL 55 FOR

More from MPR:
Senate compromises on Minnesota minimum wage bill (05/02/2005)

House floor vote
May 2, 2005 (SF3)

he Minnesota House has been the major hurdle for a minimum wage hike for the last eight years. But this year, the measure passed overwhelmingly on an 84 to 50 vote.

Result: Passed

Legislator Party District Vote
Jim Abeler Republican 48B FOR
Ron Abrams Republican 43B AGAINST
Bruce Anderson Republican 19A AGAINST
Irv Anderson DFL 03A FOR
Joe Atkins DFL 39B FOR
Michael Beard Republican 35A AGAINST
Connie Bernardy DFL 51B FOR
Greg Blaine Republican 12B AGAINST
Fran Bradley Republican 29B AGAINST
Laura Brod Republican 25A AGAINST
Mark Buesgens Republican 35B AGAINST
Lyndon Carlson DFL 45B FOR
Mike Charron Republican 56A AGAINST
Karen Clark DFL 61A FOR
Tony Cornish Republican 24B AGAINST
Ray Cox Republican 25B FOR
Lloyd Cybart Republican 37A AGAINST
Gregory M. Davids Republican 31B AGAINST
Jim Davnie DFL 62A FOR
Chris DeLaForest Republican 49A AGAINST
Matt Dean Republican 52B AGAINST
Randy Demmer Republican 29A AGAINST
Jerry Dempsey Republican 28A FOR
David Dill DFL 06A FOR
Denise Dittrich DFL 47A FOR
Dan Dorman Republican 27A AGAINST
John Dorn DFL 23B FOR
Rob Eastlund Republican 17A AGAINST
Kent Eken DFL 02A FOR
Keith Ellison DFL 58B FOR
Tom Emmer Republican 19B AGAINST
Matt Entenza DFL 64A FOR
Ron Erhardt Republican 41A FOR
Sondra Erickson Republican 16A AGAINST
Brad Finstad Republican 21B AGAINST
Patti Fritz DFL 26B FOR
Pat Garofalo Republican 36B AGAINST
Paul Gazelka Republican 12A AGAINST
Barbara Goodwin DFL 50A FOR
Mindy Greiling DFL 54A FOR
Bob Gunther Republican 24A AGAINST
Tom Hackbarth Republican 48A AGAINST
Rod Hamilton Republican 22B AGAINST
Rick Hansen DFL 39A FOR
Alice Hausman DFL 66B FOR
Bud Heidgerken Republican 13A AGAINST
Debra Hilstrom DFL 46B FOR
Bill Hilty DFL 08A FOR
Mary Liz Holberg Republican 36A AGAINST
Joe Hoppe Republican 34B AGAINST
Frank Hornstein DFL 60B FOR
Melissa Hortman DFL 47B FOR
Larry Hosch DFL 14B FOR
Larry Howes Republican 04B FOR
Thomas Huntley DFL 07A FOR
Mike Jaros DFL 07B FOR
Jeff Johnson Republican 43A AGAINST
Ruth Johnson DFL 23A FOR
Sheldon Johnson DFL 67B FOR
Al Juhnke DFL 13B FOR
Phyllis Kahn DFL 59B FOR
Margaret Anderson Kelliher DFL 60A FOR
Karen Klinzing Republican 56B AGAINST
Jim Knoblach Republican 15A AGAINST
Lyle Koenen DFL 20B FOR
Paul Kohls Republican 34A AGAINST
Philip Krinkie Republican 53A AGAINST
Morrie Lanning Republican 09A AGAINST
Dan Larson DFL 63B FOR
Ron Latz DFL 44B FOR
Ann Lenczewski DFL 40B FOR
John Lesch DFL 66A FOR
Tina Liebling DFL 30A FOR
Bernard Lieder DFL 01B FOR
Leon Lillie DFL 55A FOR
Diane Loeffler DFL 59A FOR
Doug Magnus Republican 22A AGAINST
Tim Mahoney DFL 67A FOR
Carlos Mariani DFL 65B FOR
Paul Marquart DFL 09B FOR
Denny McNamara Republican 57B AGAINST
Doug Meslow Republican 53B FOR
Frank Moe DFL 04A FOR
Joe Mullery DFL 58A FOR
Mary Murphy DFL 06B FOR
Michael Nelson DFL 46A FOR
Peter Nelson Republican 17B AGAINST
Scott Newman Republican 18A AGAINST
Bud Nornes Republican 10A FOR
Mark Olson Republican 16B AGAINST
Joe Opatz DFL 15B FOR
Mary Ellen Otremba DFL 11B FOR
Dennis Ozment Republican 37B FOR
Erik Paulsen Republican 42B AGAINST
Michael Paymar DFL 64B FOR
Gene Pelowski, Jr. DFL 31A FOR
Maxine Penas Republican 01A FOR
Joyce Peppin Republican 32A AGAINST
Aaron Peterson DFL 20A FOR
Neil W. Peterson Republican 41B AGAINST
Sandra Peterson DFL 45A FOR
Jeanne Poppe DFL 27B FOR
Duke Powell Republican 40A AGAINST
Tom Rukavina DFL 05A FOR
Connie Ruth Republican 26A FOR
Maria Ruud DFL 42A FOR
Brita Sailer DFL 02B FOR
Char Samuelson Republican 50B FOR
Bev Scalze DFL 54B FOR
Marty Seifert Republican 21A AGAINST
Anthony Sertich DFL 05B FOR
Dan Severson Republican 14A AGAINST
Katie Sieben DFL 57A FOR
Steve Simon DFL 44A FOR
Dean Simpson Republican 10B FOR
Nora Slawik DFL 55B FOR
Steve Smith Republican 33A FOR
Judy Soderstrom Republican 08B AGAINST
Loren Solberg DFL 03B FOR
Steve Sviggum Republican 28B AGAINST
Barb Sykora Republican 33B FOR
Cy Thao DFL 65A FOR
Paul Thissen DFL 63A FOR
Kathy Tingelstad Republican 49B FOR
Dean Urdahl Republican 18B FOR
Ray Vandeveer Republican 52A AGAINST
Jean Wagenius DFL 62B FOR
Neva Walker DFL 61B FOR
Lynn Wardlow Republican 38B AGAINST
Andy Welti DFL 30B FOR
Andrew Westerberg Republican 51A FOR
Torrey Westrom Republican 11A FOR
Tim Wilkin Republican 38A AGAINST
Kurt Zellers Republican 32B AGAINST