Roll back higher ed funding; cap tuition

HF1101*/ SF924 The Senate bill called for an 18.9 percent General Fund reduction to the university; the House, 17.7 percent; and the governor, 6 percent. The respective percentages for MnSCU were 13.3 percent, 15.9 percent and 6 percent.

n an effort to ensure students don't bear the brunt of state reductions, MnSCU could not raise tuition by more than 3 percent per year at the two-year state colleges, and by no more than 5 percent in the first academic year and 4 percent in the second academic at the state universities. The annual increase in mandatory fees is limited to 4 percent, unless higher rate is approved by student associations. It is requested the university also adhere to the 5 percent/4 percent tuition increases and 4 percent fee increase. Because of its autonomy, the Legislature can only request the university do something.

-- Session Daily

More from MPR:
Read the governor's veto letter (05/24/2011)

SORT VOTES BY: Name | District | Party | Vote
Governor's Desk
May 24, 2011

Result: Vetoed

More from MPR:
Read the governor's veto letter (05/24/2011)

Governor's Desk
May 21, 2011

Result: Presented
Senate repassage (Higher ed omnibus bill)
May 20, 2011 (HF1101)

The omnibus bill passed on a 35-to-31 vote.

Result: Passed

Legislator Party District Vote
Thomas M. Bakk DFL 06 AGAINST
Michelle Benson Republican 49 FOR
Linda Berglin DFL 61 AGAINST
Terri Bonoff DFL 43 AGAINST
David Brown Republican 16 FOR
John Carlson Republican 04 FOR
Roger Chamberlain Republican 53 FOR
Richard J. Cohen DFL 64 AGAINST
Gary Dahms Republican 21 FOR
Ted Daley Republican 38 FOR
Al DeKruif Republican 25 FOR
D. Scott Dibble DFL 60 AGAINST
Michelle L. Fischbach Republican 14 FOR
Paul Gazelka Republican 12 FOR
Chris Gerlach Republican 37 FOR
Joe Gimse Republican 13 FOR
Barbara Goodwin DFL 50 AGAINST
Dan Hall Republican 40 FOR
David Hann Republican 42 FOR
John Harrington DFL 67 AGAINST
Linda Higgins DFL 58 AGAINST
Gretchen Hoffman Republican 10 FOR
John Sterling Howe Republican 28 FOR
Bill Ingebrigtsen Republican 11 FOR
Michael J. Jungbauer Republican 48 FOR
Kenneth Kelash DFL 63 AGAINST
Amy Koch Republican 19 FOR
Benjamin Kruse Republican 47 FOR
Gary W. Kubly DFL 20 AGAINST
Keith Langseth DFL 09 AGAINST
Ted Lillie Republican 56 FOR
Warren Limmer Republican 32 FOR
Tony Lourey DFL 08 AGAINST
Doug Magnus Republican 22 FOR
John Marty DFL 54 AGAINST
Mary Jo McGuire DFL 66 AGAINST
James P. Metzen DFL 39 AGAINST
Geoff Michel Republican 41 FOR
Jeremy Miller Republican 31 AGAINST
Carla Nelson Republican 30 FOR
Scott Newman Republican 18 FOR
Sean R. Nienow Republican 17 FOR
Gen Olson Republican 33 FOR
Julianne E. Ortman Republican 34 FOR
Sandra L. Pappas DFL 65 AGAINST
Mike Parry Republican 26 FOR
John Pederson Republican 15 AGAINST
Lawrence J. Pogemiller DFL 59 AGAINST
Roger Reinert DFL 07 AGAINST
Ann H. Rest DFL 45 AGAINST
Claire A. Robling Republican 35 FOR
Julie A. Rosen Republican 24 FOR
Tom Saxhaug DFL 03 AGAINST
David H. Senjem Republican 29 FOR
Kathy Sheran DFL 23 AGAINST
Katie Sieben DFL 57 AGAINST
Dan Sparks DFL 27 AGAINST
LeRoy A. Stumpf DFL 01 AGAINST
Dave Thompson Republican 36 FOR
David J. Tomassoni DFL 05 AGAINST
Patricia Torres Ray DFL 62 AGAINST
Ray Vandeveer Republican 52 FOR
Charles W. Wiger DFL 55 AGAINST
Pam Wolf Republican 51 FOR
House approval
May 17, 2011 (HF1101)

The House passed the bill on a 69-to-57 vote.

Result: Passed

Legislator Party District Vote
Jim Abeler Republican 48B FOR
Bruce Anderson Republican 19A FOR
Diane Anderson Republican 38A FOR
Paul Anderson Republican 13A FOR
Sarah Anderson Republican 43A FOR
Tom Anzelc DFL 03A AGAINST
King Banaian Republican 15B AGAINST
Bob Barrett Republican 17B FOR
Michael Beard Republican 35A FOR
Mike Benson Republican 30B FOR
Kurt Bills Republican 37B FOR
Kathy Brynaert DFL 23B AGAINST
Mark Buesgens Republican 35B FOR
Lyndon Carlson DFL 45B AGAINST
Bobby Joe Champion DFL 58B AGAINST
Karen Clark DFL 61A AGAINST
Tony Cornish Republican 24B FOR
Roger Crawford Republican 08B FOR
Kurt Daudt Republican 17A FOR
Gregory M. Davids Republican 31B FOR
Jim Davnie DFL 62A AGAINST
Matt Dean Republican 52B FOR
Bob Dettmer Republican 52A FOR
David Dill DFL 06A AGAINST
Denise Dittrich DFL 47A AGAINST
Connie Doepke Republican 33B FOR
Keith Downey Republican 41A FOR
Steve Drazkowski Republican 28B FOR
Sondra Erickson Republican 16A FOR
Dan Fabian Republican 01A FOR
Andrew Falk DFL 20A AGAINST
Mary Franson Republican 11B FOR
Patti Fritz DFL 26B AGAINST
Pat Garofalo Republican 36B FOR
Kerry Gauthier DFL 07B AGAINST
Steve Gottwalt Republican 15A FOR
Marion Greene DFL 60A AGAINST
Mindy Greiling DFL 54A AGAINST
Glenn Gruenhagen Republican 25A FOR
Bob Gunther Republican 24A FOR
Tom Hackbarth Republican 48A FOR
Rod Hamilton Republican 22B FOR
David Hancock Republican 02B FOR
Rick Hansen DFL 39A AGAINST
Alice Hausman DFL 66B AGAINST
Jeff Hayden DFL 61B AGAINST
Debra Hilstrom DFL 46B AGAINST
Bill Hilty DFL 08A AGAINST
Mary Liz Holberg Republican 36A FOR
Joe Hoppe Republican 34B FOR
Frank Hornstein DFL 60B AGAINST
Melissa Hortman DFL 47B AGAINST
Larry Hosch DFL 14B AGAINST
Larry Howes Republican 04B FOR
Sheldon Johnson DFL 67B AGAINST
Phyllis Kahn DFL 59B AGAINST
Tim Kelly Republican 28A FOR
Andrea Kieffer Republican 56B FOR
Debra Kiel Republican 01B AGAINST
Mary Kiffmeyer Republican 16B FOR
Kate Knuth DFL 50B AGAINST
Lyle Koenen DFL 20B AGAINST
Morrie Lanning Republican 09A FOR
Mike LeMieur Republican 12B FOR
Ernie Leidiger Republican 34A FOR
Ann Lenczewski DFL 40B AGAINST
Tina Liebling DFL 30A AGAINST
Leon Lillie DFL 55A AGAINST
Diane Loeffler DFL 59A AGAINST
Kathy Lohmer Republican 56A FOR
Jenifer Loon Republican 42B FOR
Tara Mack Republican 37A FOR
Tim Mahoney DFL 67A AGAINST
Carlos Mariani DFL 65B AGAINST
Paul Marquart DFL 09B AGAINST
Pat Mazorol Republican 41B FOR
Joe McDonald Republican 19B FOR
Carolyn McElfatrick Republican 03B FOR
Carol McFarlane Republican 53B FOR
Denny McNamara Republican 57B FOR
Carly Melin DFL 5B AGAINST
Rene Moran DFL 65A AGAINST
Terry Morrow DFL 23A AGAINST
Joe Mullery DFL 58A AGAINST
Mike Murdock Republican 10B FOR
Erin Murphy DFL 64A AGAINST
Mary Murphy DFL 06B AGAINST
Rich Murray Republican 27A FOR
Pam Myhra Republican 40A FOR
Michael Nelson DFL 46A AGAINST
Bud Nornes Republican 10A FOR
Kim Norton DFL 29B AGAINST
Tim O'Driscoll Republican 14A FOR
Michael Paymar DFL 64B AGAINST
Gene Pelowski, Jr. DFL 31A AGAINST
Joyce Peppin Republican 32A FOR
John Persell DFL 04A AGAINST
Branden Petersen Republican 49B FOR
Sandra Peterson DFL 45A AGAINST
Jeanne Poppe DFL 27B AGAINST
Duane Quam Republican 29A FOR
Tom Rukavina DFL 05A AGAINST
Linda Runbeck Republican 53A FOR
Tim Sanders Republican 51A FOR
Bev Scalze DFL 54B AGAINST
Joe Schomacker Republican 22A FOR
Peggy Scott Republican 49A FOR
Ron Shimanski Republican 18A FOR
Steve Simon DFL 44A AGAINST
Steve Smith Republican 33A FOR
Kirk Stensrud Republican 42A FOR
Chris Swedzinski Republican 21A FOR
Paul Thissen DFL 63A AGAINST
Tom Tillberry DFL 51B AGAINST
Paul Torkelson Republican 21B FOR
Dean Urdahl Republican 18B FOR
Bruce Vogel Republican 13B FOR
Jean Wagenius DFL 62B AGAINST
Doug Wardlow Republican 38B FOR
Torrey Westrom Republican 11A FOR
Ryan Winkler DFL 44B AGAINST
Kelby Woodard Republican 25B FOR
Kurt Zellers Republican 32B FOR