Morning Glories - Old Classics, New Releases

October 1, 2012

St. Paul, Minn. — Every weekday morning at 10 a.m., the hosts at Classical MPR play a stand-out work based on the theme for the week. We call them Morning Glories. This week, we are playing five new recordings of well-known classics.


Hector Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique
Lyon National Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin, conductor


Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3
German Symphony Orchestra, Berlin/Kent Nagano
Mari Kodama, piano


Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 "Titan": 2nd movement
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra/Marin Alsop, conductor


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21
Cleveland Orchestra/Mitsuko Uchida, piano and conductor


Peter Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4
London Philharmonic Orchestra/Vladimir Jurowski, conductor

On Now

Music Through The Night®
Scott Blankenship
Listen to the Stream
  • Rodeo: Buckaroo Holiday 2:51 Aaron Copland
    Cincinnati Pops Orchestra
    Erich Kunzel
    Buy Now
  • Minuet on the name of Haydn 2:48 Maurice Ravel
    Heidi Lowy, piano
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.