FAQ: What is Minn. law regarding RVs?by Madeleine Baran, Minnesota Public Radio,
Jon Collins, Minnesota Public Radio
St. Paul, Minn. — Five members of a Minnesota family were killed in an accident in a recreational vehicle in Kansas on Sunday.
Here are some answers to questions about RVs under Minnesota law.
Do you need a special license to drive an RV in Minnesota?
No. If you are driving a RV for personal use, a regular Class D license is required, according to Minnesota State Patrol spokesperson Lt. Eric Roeske.
The Kansas Highway Patrol has reported the driver is 17 years old. Can a 17-year-old drive an RV legally in Minnesota?
Yes. There are no special restrictions for minors driving standard RVs. In Minnesota, you can obtain a provisional Class D license at age 16.
Is it illegal for people to ride in a trailer or attached motor home in Minnesota?
No. It may not be a safe place for people to ride, but Roeske said it is not illegal.
Does Minnesota law require that everyone in a motor home have a seat belt on?
No. Roeske said Minnesota law only requires a seatbelt for each seat. If an RV has fewer seats than riders then the excess passengers would not be required to wear seatbelts.
What are the manufacturing standards for RVs?
Walter Cannon, executive director of the RV Safety and Education Foundation said that most RVs are produced by manufacturers who follow specific federal safety standards, as well as standards imposed by their industry association. Roeske said the manufacturer certifies that the RV meets safety regulations. If you make or customize your own RV, he said, "then you certify that it meets regulations."
Does Minnesota inspect RVs to make sure they meet basic safety guidelines?
No. Cannon said only three states inspect RVs: Washington, Oregon, and Nebraska.
What is the State Patrol's advice for RV drivers and passengers?
The Minnesota State Patrol recommends that all passengers wear seatbelts at all times.
Madeleine Baran is a general assignment reporter for MPR News.