Free Download of Yefim Bronfman's Schubert Club recital!

by Alison Young, Minnesota Public Radio
April 8, 2010

St. Paul, Minn. — Affectionately called "Fima," Yefim Bronfman creates fireworks as well as illuminating and transcendent moments in his recital.

This was certainly the case recently at the Schubert Club.

Bronfman seemed as if his hands were compelled to dash about the keyboard, flying across the keys, thundering, singing, and bringing each composer's vision to vivid life. He was like a man possessed...and possessed of extraordinary gifts.
- Rob Hubbard, Saint Paul Pioneer Press

And if you missed it, Fima has graciously agreed to make the recital available free either by streaming or download.

This is one concert well worth listening to over and over.

Yefim played a seldom performed work - Tchaikovsky's "Grand Sonata" last heard at the Ordway in 1918. It's a piece of such gorgeous pianistic color it brings into focus for ballet lovers a whole new side of Tchaikovsky.

Schumann's "Faschingsschwank aus Wien." -- Carnival Scenes from Vienna -- is full of moments of dizzying speed and a sense of being completely out-of-control, contrasted with tender and poignant slow movements that leave one feeling Fima uses the piano as an extension of his soul, a source of emotional expression rather than a vehicle to show-off his technique.

Though the concert was full of spectacular displays of technique. In the Prokofiev Sonata, a slow burn leads to a frenzied conclusion that brought concert-goers to their feet with loud cheers and bravos. Two encores by Chopin and Listz followed.


For your free download go to Intant Encore

On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Sonatine 9:48 Maurice Ravel
    Angela Hewitt, p
    Buy Now
  • Sigurd Jorsalfar Suite 9:34 Edvard Grieg
    Ulster Orchestra
    Vernon Handley
    Buy Now

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Classical Notes Blog

Read more