Orpheus live from Carnegie for first broadcast of new classical public radio station

by Alison Young, Minnesota Public Radio
October 8, 2009

St. Paul, Minn. — Things are tough all over in the classical world. That place of solace and re-energizing that we take for granted in Minnesota -- the classical music station -- is simply missing in many parts of the country

This week, however, there's a totally different story.

After more than six decades, the broadcast arm of The New York Times - New York City's WQXR - moved to a new frequency and a new life as a public radio station - one that airs classical music 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Purchased by WNYC - this move ensures classical music is alive on New York City's airwaves.

It happened Thursday night straight up at 8 p.m. ET and we at Classical-MPR were there celebrating along by simultaneously broadcasting their first broadcast.

It was a doozy -- a smashing and energized live concert from Carnegie Hall with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra.

It began with one of Orpheus' signature classics, the high-spirited "Dumbarton Oaks" concerto by Igor Stravinsky.

Followed was Anton Webern's transcription of Bach from "A Musical Offering." Then local favorite Aaron Jay Kernis was on hand for an interview and the world premiere of his "Concerto with Echoes" much like Dumbarton Oaks, a work also based on Bach's Brandenburg Concertos.

Rounding out the concert was the young Norwegian superstar Henning Kraggerud in Beethoven's Violin Concerto.

You can check out a past performance of Orpheus at Carnegie from our archives. It's Haydn's Symphony No. 59 "Fire" and right here on our web-site.

On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Prelude and Fugue "St Anne" 7:01 Johann Sebastian Bach
    Boston Symphony Orchestra
    Seiji Ozawa
    Buy Now
  • Symphony No. 29 6:35 Mozart
    Nationaal Arts Centre Orchestra
    Pinchas Zuckerman
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Classical Notes Blog

Read more