On Now

Melissa Ousley
Listen to the Stream
  • Symphony No. 6 9:32 Johann Christian Bach
    Academy of Ancient Music
    Simon Standage
    Buy Now
  • La Boheme: Musetta's Waltz ("Quando m'en vo") 9:28 Giacomo Puccini
    Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
    Arthur Fagen
    Richard Stoltzman, clarinet
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

May 2014
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

San Diego Opera Rides Again

Posted at 2:41 PM on May 19, 2014 by Rex Levang

If you follow the classical headlines, you might remember that earlier this year, the San Diego Opera announced that it was shutting its doors, in the face of some sobering financial figures.

Good news today: the board of the organization has rescinded that decision. More details here.