On Now

Music Through The Night®
Kevin O'Connor
Listen to the Stream
  • Music of the Spheres Waltz (Spharen-Klange) 4:11 Josef Strauss
    Vienna Philharmonic
    Riccardo Muti
    Buy Now
  • Prelude No. 1 4:06 Heitor Villa-Lobos
    Julian Bream, guitar
    Buy Now

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

August 2010
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

Hatzis and the Multi-Media

Posted at 1:51 PM on August 3, 2010 by Ward Jacobson
Filed under: Programs

Whether you're staying up really, really late Tuesday night, or getting up really, really early Wednesday morning, check out Music Through the Night just after 4:45am (CDT, Wednesday). You'll hear the piano trio movement ("Old Photographs") from a multi-media work called "Constantinople" by Christos Hatzis - a work written for mezzo-soprano, Arabic singer, violin, cello, piano, and (wait for it)...electronic audio. "Constantinople" offers an exploration of age-old cultural and religious issues. Hatzis was born in Greece in 1953, was educated in the U.S., became a Canadian citizen 25 years ago, and is now considered one of that country's most important composers today. Get a preview from the video below.