On Now

Music Through The Night®
Scott Blankenship
Listen to the Stream
  • Symphony No. 2 4:27 Ludwig van Beethoven
    Cleveland Orchestra
    Christoph von Dohnanyi
    Buy Now
  • Cantabile doloroso e Rondo giocoso 4:15 Ole Bull
    London Symphony Orchestra
    Andrew Gourlay
    Charlie Siem, violin
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

July 2009
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

e-Comp enters chamber mode

Posted at 9:39 AM on July 7, 2009 by Melissa Ousley (2 Comments)
Filed under: Piano eComp

Monday was a rehearsal day for the six finalists of the Minnesota International Piano-e-Competition. Each spent an hour with the Rosalyra Quartet in preparation for today's round of chamber music. They also took time to sit down and chat with me about how things are going. As we move into the last two phases of the competition, the experience moves from solo piano to collaborative and I was curious to know if that might reduce some of the pressure -- maybe even make things fun. The answer to that question was a unanimous, "No!" They have very limited rehearsal time with the quartet and orchestra. Still, they are expected to be in charge and are responsible for how things go.
Here's the schedule for today's chamber music round at Sundin Hall.

Noon: Eric Zuber, Dvorak
12:45 pm: Grace Kim, Dvorak
1:30 pm: Helene Tysman, Schumann
2:15 - 4:00 pm: BREAK
4:00 pm: Alessandro Taverna, Brahms
4:45 pm: Howard Na, Brahms
5:30 pm: Pavel Yeletsky, Brahms

Listen to my conversation with John Birge to learn more about finalists Helene Tysman and Alessandro Taverna

Comments (2)

It was a unique experience for me Tuesday afternoon, hearing the same work (Brahms quintet) played back to back by three different pianists. One of the performances seemed to lack the fire and intensity of the other two. Or was that just my ears getting a little stale after hearing the music three times?
I wonder, do the judges confer at all with the string players and orchestra conductor? Or is it all in the performance itself. And do contestants receive written comments on their playing from the judges?
After several days attending at Sundin Hall, I have my definite favorites among the contestants. Tonight we'll see if the judges agree with me!

Posted by Kai | July 10, 2009 9:11 AM


You raise some excellent questions about the judging at the e-Competition. Here's what I know:
The judges base their decision only on playing, and they do not confer with the orchestra or the quartet players.
Contestants do not receive written comments, however, all contestants, once they are out of the competition (or at the end of the competition) are given an opportunity to talk to all the judges and get their perspective and comments on their playing.

Posted by Melissa Ousley | July 13, 2009 9:08 AM