On Now

Music Through The Night®
Kevin O'Connor
Listen to the Stream
  • Orchestral Suite No. 2 "Characteristic": Dreams of a Child 3:06 Peter Tchaikovsky
    National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland
    Stefan Sanderling
    Buy Now
  • Forest Clearing 3:01 Sigurd Islandsmoen
    Iceland Symphony Orchestra
    Bjarte Engeset
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

July 2009
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

Classical Notes: July 11, 2009 Archive

Piano-e-Comp results are in

Posted at 6:11 AM on July 11, 2009 by Melissa Ousley
Filed under: Piano eComp

Results of the Minnesota International Piano-e-Competition were announced last night at Orchestra Hall by Alexander Braginsky, Co-Founder, Artistic Director and President of the organization. The results meant that winner Alessandro Taverna had the chance to play Chopin's Piano Concerto #1 twice yesterday. First, at noon during the final round of the competition. Then one more time last night in the "victory round." He appeared quite happy to be put in that position and even made time for a charming, jazzy encore by Friedrich Gulda.

First Prize: Alessandro Taverna, Italy
Second Prize: Pavel Yeletsky, Belarus
Third Prize: Helene Tysman, France
Fourth Prize, Eric Zuber, United States
Fifth Prize, Howard Na, United States
Sixth Prize, Grace Eun Hae Kim, South Korea

Pavel Yeletsky was also awarded the Schubert Prize for the best performance of a Schubert Sonata in round two of the competition.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]