On Now

Music Through The Night®
Andrea Blain
Listen to the Stream
  • Sinfonia Concertante 1:41 Franz Joseph Haydn
    Chamber Orchestra of Europe
    Roger Norrington
    Marieke Blankestijn, violin
    Steven Isserlis, cello
    Douglas Boyd, oboe
    Matthew Wilkie, bassoon
    Buy Now
  • Petite Suite 1:14 Alexander Borodin
    Philharmonia Orchestra
    Geoffrey Simon
    Stephanie Chase, violin
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

February 2009
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

Classical Notes: February 17, 2009 Archive

A Short History of Vicious Reviews

Posted at 12:23 PM on February 17, 2009 by Gillian Martin (1 Comments)

Music critics today might write unflattering, negative, or even mildly insulting reviews of classical music performances, but they've got nothing on the critics of the past. This column from slate.com gives some examples from the golden age of incendiary reviews.

Comment on this post

Short but Sweet--Your Help Requested

Posted at 5:26 PM on February 17, 2009 by Rex Levang (2 Comments)

When we sent out a note to Classical MPR staff asking for short pieces that still had a lot to offer, we got some interesting responses, from Bach to Peter Maxwell Davies --you can read about them here.

You can get into the act too. Is there a short piece (say 10 min. or less) that's a favorite of yours? Tell us what it is, in all its brevity--and tell us why it's special--and we'll put your responses in the hopper for this week's "short" edition of Friday Favorites.

Comment on this post