On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Clarinet Quintet: 4th movement 6:31 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Kimball Sykes, clarinet
    Pinchas Zukerman, violin
    Donnie Deacon, violin
    Jane Logan, viola
    Amanda Forsyth, cello
    Buy Now
  • Symphonic Metamorphosis: March 6:25 Paul Hindemith
    Berlin Philharmonic
    Claudio Abbado
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

October 2008
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

Written by Bach .... Mrs. Bach, That Is

Posted at 10:20 AM on October 15, 2008 by Rex Levang
Filed under: Ludwig van Beethoven

What if some of J. S. Bach's best loved pieces were actually composed by his wife?

That's the conclusion that an Australian music scholar has reached.

Is it a logical conclusion, far-fetched, or somewhere in between? Judge for yourself and read the article here.