On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Keyboard Concerto No. 1 11:40 Johann Sebastian Bach
    Cafe Zimmermann
    Celine Frisch, harpsichord
    Buy Now
  • V'erastich Li 11:34 Ben Steinberg
    Essential Voices USA
    Judith Clurman
    Michael Slattery, tenor
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

July 2008
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

Classical Notes: July 12, 2008 Archive

e-Piano Competition breaks its own rule

Posted at 10:36 AM on July 12, 2008 by Melissa Ousley (8 Comments)

Following Friday's thrilling Final Round of the Minnesota International e-Piano Junior Competition, the judges and Artistic Director Alexander Braginsky found they were faced with a slight dilemna. When the competition was established, the rules stated that, no matter what, only ONE First Prize would be awarded. No questions asked!
At yesterday's Award Ceremony, Braginsky said that since he made the rule, he had the power to break it. So, here are the results:

First Prize went to two contestants:

Frank Duepree, 16/Germany, played Tchaikovsky Concerto #1 in the Final Round
Nansong Huang, 14/China, played Rachmaninoff Concerto #3 in the Final Round

Second Prize -- not awarded

Third Prize went to two contestants:

Osip Nikiforov, 14/Russia, played Beethoven Concerto #3 in the Final Round
Jan Lisiecki, 13/Canada, played Chopin Concerto #2 in the Final Round

Fourth Prize -- not awarded

Fifth Prize: Vladimir Levitsky, 16/Russia, played Tchaikovsky Concerto #1 in the Final Round

Your thoughts?

Comment on this post