On Now

Listen to the Stream
  • Symphony No. 8 6:47 Georg Anton Benda
    Prague Chamber Orchestra
    Christian Benda
    Buy Now
  • Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow) 6:42 Fritz Kreisler
    Itzhak Perlman, violin
    Samuel Sanders, piano
    Buy Now
Other MPR Radio Streams
Choral Stream
MPR News
Radio Heartland

You can now listen to Classical and Choral Music on your iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad) or Android device.

Blog Archive

July 2007
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Master Archive

Contact Us

Purchase the Music

  • Buy the music you've heard on-air! Your purchase helps support our classical service.


Classical Notes

New Book from Alex Ross

Posted at 5:10 PM on July 25, 2007 by Rex Levang (1 Comments)

A lot of people have been on vacation--at least around here, they have--so maybe you missed this sample of the upcoming book from New Yorker critic Alex Ross. Good reading in any case; the book's due out in the fall.

7/26: I hope those links work better now. Thanks for the nudge, A. S.! Related question: At the very end of Ross's article (first link above), the composer Morton Feldman hums a bit of "conservative music." Why does he choose the Sibelius Fifth? (I have a theory, but haven't gone back to check it out....)

Comments (1)

Casino games for US players best payouts and free bonuses http://casinogamesonlne.com

Posted by bonusjackpot | February 5, 2008 4:32 AM