Posted at 9:30 AM on October 13, 2005
by Ben Tesch
The White Sox won 2-1 last night, but that doesn't even begin to explain the odd play that set up the opportunity to win it in the bottom of the ninth. Did the ball hit the dirt? Did the umpire say there was no catch, thus still making the play live? Is AJ too sneaky for his own good? Did the umpires secretly wish they would have just got one more out so that it wouldn't later blow up monstrously in their faces?
Based on what I saw and then later heard in the press conferences, the umps blew the call, and knew they blew it when they started getting pressured on it. (Note: Any time you get answered a tough question, and your boss answers for you and there is an uncomfortable pause afterwards, it is most likely a big fat lie.)